SohoSoHo Showreels Directory Menu

Directing Duo Will & Carly Launch FILTERFACE

11 November 2019

Image Title

FILTERFACE is a satirical piece that looks at the unhealthy importance young people place on social media validation and the disturbing trend to go under the knife to look like their flawless filtered selfies.

Click to viewClick to view

Doctors have labelled this new mental health illness 'Snapchat Dysmorphia' - a modern-day sickness that is causing young people to lose touch with reality as they seek out a manufactured, false and synthetic ideology.

Image Title

Shot in an ex-mental health institute in North London, the film uses performance to explore themes of worship, self-obsession and addiction to the perfect projected appearance. The choreography was crafted by Isabella Mahmoud with the help on the talented Ellie Gordon who really interrogated the brief and took the feeling of discomfort to another level.

We really wanted to ring an alarm bell with this film and draw attention to the bizarre cultural obsession with AR filters that is hurting our women and girls in more ways than one.

Interestingly, only last week Instagram have begun to police this issue by banning filters that mimic the effects of extreme cosmetic surgery.
Read more here: https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-50152053

Image Title

Credits
Directors: Will & Carly @willandcarly
Executive Producer: Ramy Dance @ramydance
Producer: Jonny Duncan
Cinematographer: David Wright @davidwrightdop
Steadicam: Gary Kent @karygent
Focus Puller: Benjamin Smith
Gaffer: Nathan Matthews
Prosthetics: Natasha Lawes @natashalawes
Stylist: Alex Vilcov @alexvilcov
Choreographer: Isabella Mahmoud @babyshammm
Production Assistant: Grace Mbugua
Runner: Jessica Cottam @jess.azzurra
Editor: Meg Thorne at Cut & Run @meg.thorne
Producer: Maggie McDermott
Colour Grade: Jonny Tully at Big Buoy @jonnytully
Producer: Hannah Whitehill @hannahrh
whitehill
Music: Forest Swords @forestswords
Sound Mix: Adam Smyth at String and Tins @alittlwsmyth
Design: Matthew Thomas

Cast
Isabella Mahmoud - @babyshamm
Ellie Gordon - @edengordonn
Georgie Cooper - @g.mki
Laura Hague - @
laura_hague _ Sophie Williams - @dancingwithsoph

Special Thanks
@commonpeoplefilms
@cutandrunldn
@bigbuoy_
@stringandtins
@forestswords
@ninjatune